- Advertisement -

STAN SPORT secures new broadcast deal for RUGBY SEVENS

- Advertisement -


- Advertisement -


Stan Sport has secured a landmark deal, announcing its exclusive multi-year partnership with SVNS, previously known as the World Rugby Sevens Series.

This partnership boosts the platform’s commitment to being recognised as the Home of Rugby.

In a fresh format, SVNS 2024 is set to deliver eight festival-like events hosted in major global cities. These events will serve as a precursor to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, where Rugby Sevens will feature again after its Olympic inception in 2016.

- Advertisement -

Distinguishing this revamped series are its destinations, spreading over seven months and spotlighting twelve top-notch men’s and women’s teams. Action is poised to commence in December 2023.

The men’s teams participating include: Argentina, Australia, Canada, Fiji, France, Great Britain, Ireland, New Zealand, Samoa, South Africa, Spain, and the USA.

On the women’s front, the teams lined up are: Australia, Brazil, Canada, Fiji, France, Great Britain, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, and the USA.

The series arrives on the heels of an unprecedented year for women’s rugby. In its bid to promote gender equality, each of the eight rounds in SVNS 2024 will ensure equal pay and combined events for both men and women.

“Rugby Sevens is the perfect addition to our Stan Sport lineup. Building on the strength of our superb international slate of rugby, and connecting to the Paris Olympics where the Australian men’s and women’s teams will be right in the mix. Sevens is fast, physical and entertaining year round,”

commented Stan Director of Sport, Ben Kimber. He added,

“World Rugby are investing in reinventing and growing this version of their game and we’re ready to showcase it to a wider audience.”

The inclusion of SVNS on Stan Sport reinforces its robust rugby catalogue, which boasts premier tournaments like the Rugby World Cup 2023, The Rugby Championship, Bledisloe Cup, Wallabies and Wallaroos home Tests, 2025 British & Irish Lions Series, Spring Tour (Autumn Nations Series), Super Rugby Pacific, Super W, World XV, and the Six Nations Championship.

- Advertisement -

The 2023/24 SVNS series will kickstart in Dubai on 2-3 December, proceeding to Cape Town the subsequent week. Perth’s HBF Park is slated to host rounds in both 2024 and 2025, with its leg from 26-28 January 2024. The series will then journey through Vancouver, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, and Singapore, culminating in a Grand Final showdown in Madrid from 31 May to 2 June.

Here, the cream of the crop will vie for the title, while the ninth to twelfth ranked teams will jostle alongside top contenders from the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series for entry into SVNS 2025.

For rugby enthusiasts in Australia, Stan Sport promises an ad-free experience, bringing every round of the SVNS 2024 live and on-demand, starting this December 2.


Dubai, UAE
​2-3 December 2023

Cape Town, South Africa
​9-10 December 2023

Perth, Australia
​26-28 January 2024

Vancouver, Canada
​23-25 February 2024

Los Angeles, USA
​2-3 March 2024

Hong Kong SAR, China
​5-7 April 2024

Singapore, Singapore
​3-5 May 2024

Grand Final: Madrid, Spain
​31 May – 2 June 2024

Watch all the action from the SVNS 2024 on the Home of Rugby, Stan Sport. Every round exclusive and ad-free, live and on demand from December 2.

- Advertisement -

Know more about this or another Australian media story?

Contact the team anonymously at TV Blackbox

Kevin Perry
Kevin Perryhttps://tvblackbox.com.au/author-kevin-perry/
Senior Editor and Co-Owner of the TV Blackbox website, Kevin Perry is an experienced media commentator focused on TV Production, Consumer Tech, SVOD & Sports Broadcasting. Media enquiries please Call or Text 0428-275-111

Join or social media

- Advertisement -


Another one in the can - the TV BINGEBOX keeps on delivering | 2024.E02

Latest Stories