Winners Announced at the 2020 AACTA Awards


We celebrated our 10th year today with the 2020 AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel at The Star Sydney. In a year that looked a little different, the celebrations were as significant as ever for screen entertainment in Australia with a special message from the newly appointed AACTA President, Russell Crowe.

Stateless, Babyteeth, Bluey, Masterchef Australia, Mystery Road, Cate Blanchett, Rebel Wilson, Ben Mendelsohn, Shaun Micallef, Yvonne Strahovski and Essie Davis were among the winners announced at the star-studded ceremony.

Leading the 2020 AACTA Awards season with a total of 13 Awards was Stateless, including Best Telefeature or Miniseries, Best Screenplay in Television and all four acting Awards across television drama. In film, Babyteeth received nine Awards including Best Film presented by Foxtel and Best Direction for Shannon Murphy, marking her impressive directional debut.

The full list of AACTA Awards presented are as follows:

  • Best Telefeature or Mini Series: Stateless 
  • Best Reality Program: Masterchef Australia 
  • Best Entertainment Program: Have You Been Paying Attention? 
  • Best Lifestyle Program:The Living Room 
  • Best Online Entertainment: The Norris Nuts 
  • Best Online Drama or Comedy: Love In Lockdown 
  • Best Children’s Program: Bluey 
  • Best Comedy Entertainment Program: Shaun Micallef’s Mad As Hell 
  • Best Drama Series: Mystery Road 
  • Best Comedy Series: Upright 
  • Best Factual Entertainment Program: Gogglebox Australia 
  • Best Documentary or Factual Program: Murder in The Outback: The Falconio And Less Mystery 
  • Subscription Television Award for Best Presenter: Rebel Wilson (LOL: Last One Laughing Australia)
  • Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama: Fayssal Bazzi (Stateless)
  • Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama: Yvonne Strahovski (Stateless)
  • Best Guest or Supporting Actor in a Television Drama: Darren Gilshenan (Stateless)
  • Best Guest or Supporting Actress in a Television Drama: Cate Blanchett (Stateless)
  • Best Screenplay in Television: Elise McCredie(Stateless
  • Best Direction in a TV Drama or Comedy: Emma Freeman (Stateless
  • Best Comedy Performer: Tim Minchin (Upright)
  • Best Film presented by Foxtel: Babyteeth 
  • Best Indie Film: Standing Up For Sunny 
  • Best Asian Film: Better Days 
  • Best Documentary: Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra 
  • Best Screenplay in Film: Rita Kalnejais (Babyteeth)
  • Best Direction in Film: Shannon Murphy (Babyteeth)
  • Best Lead Actor in Film: Toby Wallace (Babyteeth)
  • Best Lead Actress in Film: Eliza Scanlen (Babyteeth)
  • Best Supporting Actor in Film: Ben Mendelsohn (Babyteeth) 
  • Best Supporting Actress in Film: Essie Davis (Babyteeth)
  • Best Short Film: The Mirror 
  • Best VFX or Animation: The Eight Hundred 

The Byron Kennedy Award was also presented, recognising the impact of Australian low-budget genre filmmaking and celebrating the outstanding creative enterprise within the screen industry. Jennifer Kent was announced as the recipient for her international success on the AACTA Award-winning film, The Babadook.

Steve Bedwell, Bryan Cockerill and Geraldine Coy were the proud recipients of the inaugural AACTA Reg Grundy Award, established to support new voices in screen entertainment and fast track original productions. The trio received a $50,000 prize comprised of cash and development funds to create their winning television entertainment concept, Seven Pups.

Highlights from the 2020 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Ceremony will be included in AACTA’s Best of the Decade: Australia Decides – a reimagined broadcast celebrating a decade of Australian screen on Channel Seven, Wednesday 2 December at 8.30pm AEDT and encore on Foxtel Arts, Sunday 6 December at 9.30pm AEDT.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here




Featured Stories





New documentary special to ask the question WHAT KILLED MARADONA?

A new Discovery Channel special explores the untold story of Argentine football icon, Diego Maradona and the accumulating circumstances which may have contributed to his untimely death on 25 November last year.

JIMMY CARR and an All-Star cast to face The Big Fat Quiz Of Everything

Question master Jimmy Carr is joined by a panel of celebrity guests including Rob Beckett, Roisin Conaty, Nish Kumar, Katherine Ryan, Oti Mabuse, and Rob Brydon, as they go head to head to see who knows the most, about everything.

LOUIS THEROUX revisits families dominated by Religion on LIFE ON THE EDGE

In his trilogy of documentaries centred around the Westboro Baptist Church, Louis explores the price the family was paying for its devotion to the distorted vision of its patriarch, Pastor Fred Phelps.