The top five audience choice nominees for the AACTA Awards revealed


Your votes are in! AACTA is thrilled to announce the nominees for the Audience Choice Awards.

Today, the Australian Academy of Cinema Television Arts (AACTA) is delighted to announce the top five nominees for the 2021 Audience Choice Awards. Now in its second year, Audience Choice Awards allows the viewing public the opportunity to vote for their favourite actors, films and TV shows from the past year.

Following an online poll, five nominees in seven categories including Favourite Actor (both male and female), Favourite Film and Favourite Television Drama have been determined. The winners will be announced at the 2021 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group Ceremony, on Wednesday December 8 in addition to the peer-voted awards.

And the nominees are:

Favourite Actor:

  1. Eric Bana
  2. Asher Keddie
  3. Deborah Mailman
  4. Celia Pacquola
  5. Pamela Rabe

Favourite Television Drama:

  1. Clickbait – Netflix
  2. Home & Away – Seven Network
  3. Jack Irish – ABC
  4. Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) – Seven Network
  5. Wentworth – Foxtel

Favourite Film:

  1. A Sunburnt Christmas
  2. The Dry
  3. Mortal Kombat
  4. Penguin Bloom
  5. Peter Rabbit 2

Favourite Television Host:

  1. Carrie Bickmore – The Project – Network Ten
  2. Hamish Blake – LEGO® Masters Australia – Nine Network
  3. Costa Georgiadis – Gardening Australia – ABC
  4. Tom Gleeson – Hard Quiz – ABC
  5. Adam Hills – Spicks and Specks – ABC

Favourite Competition Reality Show:

  1. Australian Survivor: Brains V Brawn – Network Ten 
  2. The Block – Nine Network
  3. Lego Masters – Nine Network
  4. MasterChef Australia – Network Ten
  5. The Voice Australia – Seven Network

Favourite Digital Comedy Creator:

  1. Christian Hull
  2. Jimmy Rees
  3. Millie Ford
  4. Sam Cotton
  5. Sooshi Mango

Favourite Entertainment Show:

  1. Anh’s Brush with Fame – ABC
  2. Bondi Rescue – Network Ten
  3. Gardening Australia – ABC
  4. Gogglebox Australia – Foxtel/Network Ten
  5. Have you Been Paying Attention? – Network Ten  

The 2021 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Group ceremony will be broadcast on its new home, Channel 10 at 7.30pm on Wednesday, December 8, and encored in the days following on FOX ARENA on FOXTEL, BINGE, and AACTA TV. 

To view the full list of nominees for 2021, click here.

The 2021 AACTA Awards broadcast live at 7:30pm AEDT on Channel 10, Wednesday, December 8.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Featured Stories




Documentary US AND THEM explores the music of ROGER WATERS

As the founding member, lyricist, composer and creative force behind Pink Floyd, Roger Waters: Us And Them presents Waters’ powerful music in stunning form and highlights its message of human rights, liberty and love.

Chief Digital and Information Officer Helen Clifton departs ABC

ABC Chief Digital & Information Officer Helen Clifton has announced she will leave the national broadcaster to take up the role of Executive Director of Product Delivery for NHS Digital (part of the National Health Service), based in London, UK.