- Advertisement -
Home News Jury announced for inaugural AIDC awards

Jury announced for inaugural AIDC awards

Ben Thompson (image - Asha Holmes Publicity)
- Advertisement -

AIDC is pleased to announce the members of the jury, including international decision makers from IDFA, Tribeca Film Festival, The Guardian (UK), Wall to Wall and Beach House Pictures, who will decide the winners of the inaugural AIDC Awards.

The Awards will be presented as part of AIDC Closing Night on Wednesday 3 March 2021, where the talent and expertise of Australian practitioners will be celebrated across six award categories: Best Feature Documentary, Best Documentary/Factual Series; Best Documentary/Factual Single; Best Short-Form Documentary, with a $5,000 cash prize presented by Documentary Australia Foundation; Best Audio Documentary with a $3,000 cash prize presented by AFTRS; and Best Interactive/Immersive Documentary with a $3,000 cash prize co-presented by Jumpgate & Deakin University.

AIDC is also seeking nominations for the prestigious Stanley Hawes Award. This $5,000 prize is presented annually at AIDC to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the Australian documentary and factual sector.

Submissions for the AIDC Awards and nominations for the Stanley Hawes Award are now open with entries closing Wednesday 16 December 2020 at 23:59 AEDT.

The 2021 AIDC Awards Jury represents an incredible wealth of screen knowledge and industry know-how:

Al Cossar, Artistic Director, Melbourne International Film Festival, Australia

Alan Erson, Managing Director/Executive Producer, WildBear Entertainment, Australia 

Anna Miralis, Head of UK Factual, Wall to Wall, UK

- Advertisement -

Ben Thompson, Shorts Film Programmer, Tribeca Film Festival, USA

Charlie Phillips, Head of Video,The Guardian, UK

Donovan Chan, Creative Director, Beach House Pictures, Singapore

Janine Hosking, Director/Producer, iKandy Films, Australia

Julia Scott-Stevenson, Co-Convenor, i-Docs, Australia

Mat Kesting, Chief Executive Officer and Creative Director, Adelaide Film Festival, Australia

Mitchell Stanley, Producer, Causeway Films, Australia

Pauline Clague, Founder/Artistic Director, Winda Film Festival, Australia 

Rachel Corbert, Head of Podcasts & Digital Content, Nova Entertainment, Australia

Robin McNicholas, Co-Founder and Creative Director, Marshmallow Laser Feast, UK

Santilla Chingaipe, Journalist/Documentary Filmmaker, Australia

Sarah Dawson, Programmer, IDFA, Netherlands

Yaara Ozery,  Programmer, Doc Aviv, Israel

Yasmin Elayat,  Co-Founder and CMO, Scatter, USA

For full bios on each jury member visit the AIDC Jury profiles.

The Australian International Documentary Conference (AIDC) is Australia’s premier event for documentary and factual content servicing the screen and digital media industries. A not-for-profit established in 1987, the organisation remains committed to the sustainability of non-fiction storytelling. Serving both the commercial and creative needs of the industry, AIDC organises a marketplace for documentary and factual product, showcases the work of Australian and international producers, and creates a forum to discuss content, craft, technology and future directions. AIDC’s goal is to connect creators, purveyors and viewers of non-fiction screen and digital media content in ways that promote business, inspire creativity and ignite social change. 

Final submissions for the AIDC Awards and the Stanley Hawes Award will close on Wednesday 16 December 2020 at 23:59 AEDT. Full category definitions and details about how to apply for the Awards are available via the AIDC Awards guidelines.

AIDC will run 28 February – 3 March 2021. For regular updates, subscribe to the eNews.

To register for the conference, visit the AIDC website.

- Advertisement -



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version