Sky News ready to deliver its biggest Election Night Coverage

The Sky News Canberra Political Team - Dan Bourchier, Laura Jayes, David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Tom Connell.  image - supplied/Sky News Australia

The Sky News Canberra Political Team - Dan Bourchier, Laura Jayes, David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Tom Connell.
image - supplied/Sky News Australia

Australians will head to the polls this Saturday and Sky News will deliver the most comprehensive Live coverage and analysis of Election 2016.

Sky News Political Editor David Speers and Chief Political Reporter Kieran Gilbert will spearhead coverage which will feature an unmatched line-up of political insiders and the biggest names on the Australian political landscape. Paul Murray, Peta Credlin, Peter Beattie, Laura Jayes, Peter van Onselen, Kristina Keneally and Peter Reith will offer unprecedented insight this Election Day as Australia decides and the verdict is revealed.

Sky News Election Day 2016 begins at 5:00am on Sky News Live (Channel 601) and continues throughout the day with Live coverage as the leaders vote, along with the latest breaking news, commentary and analysis as Australians have their say.

From 7:00am Kieran Gilbert and his First Edition co-anchor Brooke Corte will lead the morning coverage as both leaders campaign up to the last minute.

Sky News’ non-stop election coverage continues at 4:00pm anchored by Kieran Gilbert and PVO NewsDay anchor Peter van Onselen.

As the polls close, Political Editor David Speers will anchor Election 2016: The Verdict from the Sky News Election Centre from 6:00pm AEST.  David will be joined by a panel of expert guests and Sky News political commentators to help crunch the numbers on election night including Peta Credlin, Michael Kroger, Kristina Keneally, Alan Jones and Bruce Hawker. The panel will also be joined by Attorney-General George Brandis and Shadow Immigration Minister, Richard Marles.

Kieran Gilbert, Laura Jayes, Sky News anchor Patricia Karvelas, Sky News Political Reporters Tom Connell and Dan Bourchier and Sky News anchor Ashleigh Gillon will bring viewers Live reports from Liberal, Labor and Green party headquarters throughout the evening.

Coverage will also feature an exclusive Sky News Exit Poll conducted by Newspoll examining the issues that affected how people voted.

After the dust has settled, a special Election 2016 edition of Paul Murray Live will take a fresh look at what it all means from midnight to 2:00am.

David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Laura Jayes will be back on Sunday July 3 from 5:00am to guide us through in Election 2016: The Morning After, followed by Australian Agenda with Peter van Onselen at 8:30am.

At 9:00am David Speers, Kieran Gilbert and Laura Jayes return for Election 2016: The Morning After together with an expert Sky News line-up including Paul Murray, Kristina Keneally, Peter van Onselen and Chris Kenny to recap the highs and lows of the campaign.

Sunday night’s prime time programming will include special editions of Karvelas with Patricia Karvelas at 7:00pm, Viewpoint with Chris Kenny at 8:00pm and Paul Murray Live with Paul Murray at 9:00pm.